Considering California certification instead of national

A board covering matters of regulation and requirements as well as discussion regarding the bodywork and related professions. Wow! Now that's a lot of discussion!

Moderators: Talenyn, JLWmassage

Considering California certification instead of national

Postby SoCal_MT on Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:10 am

Hi everyone! :)

I've been doing massage in Southern California for over 10 years and have about 850 hours of massage education. I'm currently licensed in the city I work in, but to renew my license for next year I would first have to get nationally certified. Since the national certification process appears to be very time consuming and expensive, I'm considering not renewing my city license and becoming a California State certified massage therapist (CMT) instead.

I was looking at the California Massage Therapy Council (CMTC) website this morning and it looks like it will take less time and be less expensive for me to get certified by the CMTC than it would for me to get nationally certified.

https://www.camtc.org/FormDownloads/level_b.pdf

Even though I have almost 10 months before my city license expires, to be on the safe side I'd like to get started with either the CMTC certification process or national certification sometime during the next two months. I'd really appreciate any advice or suggestions from other massage therapists who are either nationally certified, California State certified, or even better still, have been through the process to get both certifications. Thanks! :)
SoCal_MT
Fresh Hands

Re: Considering California certification instead of national

Postby MassageMaven on Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:25 pm

I'm pretty sure that even if you got nationally certified you would still need to get a CAMTC state or city license to work in California.