Disappointed by AMTA in NY - too many illegal practices

A board covering matters of regulation and requirements as well as discussion regarding the bodywork and related professions. Wow! Now that's a lot of discussion!

Moderators: Talenyn, JLWmassage

Disappointed by AMTA in NY - too many illegal practices

Postby massageprofessional7 on Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:03 pm

Hello all- first post here!

I am a veteran Massage Therapist of 10+ years.

It seems every day a new illegal massage practice is opening here in New York. When I began my practice it was only a few in less visible and less attractive areas. But over the past decade so little has been done to curtail such activities that these businesses are now brazenly opening just doors away from legit practices on main streets in every neighborhood.

They are noted to be charging less than half of my very reasonable fees and as such are doing a disservice to the profession. Not only does it hurt in the short term, but in the long term we have a general public who may not know the difference between a professional and someone who wants to make a fast buck and the vast distinction in the quality of care.

Additionally, as they are unscrupulous and driven by profit motives, employment or indentured servitude of help often does not stop at the waist which further characterizes Massage in a light we have been working so diligently to overcome.

As a practitioner I have contacted the AMTA on a handful of occasions to inquire what they are doing to derail this illegal activity. I explained to them that because the proliferation of these illegal practices is not seen as a threat to the community or way of life of our culture, that law enforcement has little impetus to do much about it.