The Line Between Favor and Obligation

A discussion board for matters relating to appropriate business and practice ethics, matters regarding conduct of clients and practitioners as well as a place to discuss dilemmas that cross our paths.

Moderators: riversinger, jdcan

The Line Between Favor and Obligation

Postby alleycat_lady on Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:07 am

Hey everyone,

I am a part time massage therapist, 3 days at a spa and 3 days at an office job. Despite the fact I have been there a little over a year I am still in my book building phase. Most of my first year was spent doing Living Social specials, which was great for short term income but horrible for retaining regular clients. It's a small spa, so I am the only massage therapist there.

Yesterday I was working at my office job and my spa texted me that a new client wanted to come in. I agreed to come in after I was done at my office. The client wanted to come in at 6:30 and the spa closed at 8:00, so none of the spa receptionists would have to stay late. After finishing with the client he remarked that he would like to become a regular, but he was always busy and his best days were Mondays and Wednesdays when I am working my office job. Out of politeness I said that 'of the two Wednesdays are better if it fits into my personal schedule'. That was stupid of me, but I felt put on the spot. Then he closed with, he wishes to come in weekly and he would call next Monday for next Wednesday.